This is the "Home" page of the "Online Search Service" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

LORETTE WILMOT LIBRARY

    Foursquare icon  Flickr icon  Naz Blogs icon

Online Search Service  

A professional Reference librarian will research and create a bibliography for you on your selected topic, using databases licensed by the library.
Last Updated: Aug 23, 2011 URL: http://libguides.naz.edu/online_search_service Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

About the Online Search Service

What is an online search?

In an online search, a professional Reference librarian researches and creates a bibliography for you on your selected topic, using web-based research databases licensed by the library. Depending on the topic, we may also search the Internet more broadly.

Search results are listed on a computer printout with annotations added to indicate with sources are available through our library - either through full-text web resources or in hard copy.  Anything not accessible through the library may be ordered through ILLIAD, the library's web-based interlibrary loan service.  (Please note that interlibrary loan services are available only to current Nazareth College students, faculty, and staff.)

Is an online search really what I need?

The advantage to having a search performed by a professional Reference librarian is that you are making use of the librarian's expertise and experience.  As partners in the educational process, Reference librarians also have extensive experience with the subject areas taught at Nazareth College, and, in many cases, know the literature well.

Nevertheless, most of the databases the Reference librarians search are available directly to currently registered Nazareth College students, faculty, and staff with a valid library barcode number.  If you prefer to do your own searching, please feel free to ask a Reference librarian for assistance.  A Reference librarian can suggest the best databases for specific topics and can provide instruction on individual database search engines.  Professional Reference assistance is available most of the hours that the library is open.  If no Reference librarian is on duty, our student assistants can help you get started.  You may also wish to consider making an appointment with a Reference librarian.

If you decide that an online search is the way to go, paper forms are available at the Reference Desk.  Search requests may also be submitted via e-mail. 

Should I discuss my topic with a Reference librarian?

We encourage you to communicate with us.  Conferring with a Reference librarian is the best way to ensure that your search results will be exactly what you want.  Reference Librarian Deborah Janetos is in charge of the search service.  She will be pleased to accept your search requests or answer any questions you may have.  Alternatively, click on the Ask a Librarian tab above for more ways to contact the Reference staff.  Our online search service is truly an interactive process with you as our partner.

When and where do I pick up my search?

Searches are completed in the order they are received, unless you have made other arrangements in advance.  In general, allow two business days for processing.  If you have an earlier deadline, please alert us to your deadline when submitting your search request.  We will try to accomodate you if we can.

Completed searches are held under your name at the Circulation Desk, unless you have made other arrangements in advance.

Is there a fee for an online search?

There is no fee for currently registered Nazareth College students, faculty or staff.  Information regarding fees for Nazareth College alumni, community residents, and students of other colleges and universities is available on request.  


Contact

Profile Image
Deborah Janetos
Contact Info
Reference Librarian
Lorette Wilmot Library and Media Center
Office: L230 (Research & Instruction)
Telephone: 585.389.2140
Send Email
 

Chat with a Librarian by IM

Scheduled Live Chat Hours
Monday - Thursday 6PM - 9PM
Saturday 11:30AM - 2:30PM

4245 East Avenue
Rochester, NY 14618
p (585) 389-2525
f (585) 586-2452
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip