Last Updated: Aug 13, 2012
- Information Please Almanac
Covers world & U.S. history & government, biography, sports, entertainment, business, society & culture, health & science, weather. Search by keyword or browse index in left column.
- World Almanacs
Includes The World Almanac and Book of Facts, The World Almanac of the U.S.A., The World Almanac of U.S. Politics, The World Almanac for Kids, The World Almanac Knowledge Source.
See also Reference Works by Subject, linked under the Reference Works tab on this page.
TIP: The library has many e-book dictionaries and encyclopedias, too many to list here! Try this: Search the Library Catalog for Encyclopedias, limited to Material Type: eBooks.
- Credo Reference
Credo Reference is a leading provider of reference services for libraries and information centers. There are over 395 titles consisting of an aggregate of 3.2 million entries all interconnected by millions of links.
- Encyclopedia Britannica
72,000 authoritative articles, moderate to extensive in length. Most articles end with a list of books and articles suggested for further reading on the topic.
- Funk and Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia
Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia database indexes over 25,000 records.
- Academic (Lexis Nexis) People Search
Searches Marquis Who's Who publications and more. Also offers the option of searching for people in news articles.
- Complete Dictionary of Scientific Biography
Provides information on the history of science through articles on the professional lives of scientists. All periods of science from classical antiquity to modern times are represented. Part of the Gale Virtual Reference Library.
- Scribner Writers Online
Bio-critical essays on the lives and works of more than 1,400 authors. Incorporates American Writers, British Writers, Supernatural Fiction Writers, and Writers for Children. Part of the Gale Virtual Reference Library.
- Bureau of Labor Statistics
US government source of data on employment and labor. Home of the Consumer Price Index and the Occupational Outlook Handbook (useful for information on careers).
- Data and Statistics
Links to statistics by topic. From USA.gov, the US government's consumer-oriented guide to the federal government.
- Economics Data Sources
US and international. List created for Dr. Rochelle Ruffer's Senior Seminar in Economics at Nazareth College.
Directory of statistical information available from over 100 agencies of the United States government.
- Find a County
Links and ways to search for county-level statistics and information from across the United States. From the National Association of Counties.
- Historical Census Browser
Historical information, back to 1790, from the US Census of Population and Housing. From the University of Virginia, Geospatial and Statistical Data Center.
- National Center for Education Statistics
US government agency responsible for collecting data on all aspects, all levels of education.
- National Center for Health Statistics
From the Centers for Disease Control, US government.
- National Statistical Agencies of Other Countries and International Organizations
Directory of links to statistical agencies of countries, plus international organizations. From the US Bureau of Labor Statistics.
- Statistical Abstract of the United States
General compendium of US and international statistics on a wide variety of topics. Please note that due to budget cuts, the US Census Bureau stopped compiling data for this resource in October 2011. Click on "Earlier Editions" for historical data tables back to 1878.
- United States Census
Population data, including information on social, economic, and business trends.