Last Updated: May 27, 2014
Many books on the history of New York state, including Rochester, can be found in the 974s. The 974s are shelved on the Upper level of the Library, near the windows.
Books on various aspects of local history can be found throughout the library's collection. Please click on any of the books below to view more details about a title, or to search or browse the Library Catalog.
- Bausch and Lomb History
- City of Rochester: An Interactive Timeline
Site posted by the City of Rochester, in honor of the city's 175th birthday.
- Democrat and Chronicle
Rochester's home town newspaper. A search engine indexes the newspaper from 2002 to the present. Nazareth College students, faculty, and staff may use ILLIAD to request specific articles.
- Friends of Mount Hope Cemetery
Group dedicated to the preservation of Mount Hope Cemetery, final resting place of notable figures such as Susan B. Anthony and Frederick Douglass.
- George Eastman House
Home of the founder of Eastman Kodak. The world-renowned International Museum of Photography and Film is also part of this site.
- Historical Newspapers of the Rochester, NY Region
Courtesy of the Rochester Regional Library Council.
- Monroe County Library System
A wealth of information is available digitally from our local public library system's web site. Look under Local History for Digital Collections, Rochester Images and more.
If you prefer to visit the public library in person, your best bet for local history is the Central Branch, located in downtown Rochester. Look under Central on the site for information about Central's resources and location. The closest branch is in Pittsford Village at 24 State Street.
- Rochester Public Art
- Rochester's History: An Illustrated Timeline
Postcards and pictures
- Rochester's Subway
A blog dedicated to Rochester past, present and future. Photographs and postcards.
- War Letters: Rochester Writes Home
Excerpts from letters written home by soldiers from Rochester and upstate New York, from the Civil War through Vietnam. Created in support of a locally-produced television program aired on WXXI.
- New York Heritage
Documenting the history of New York state through digital collections contributed by libraries, museums, and other cultural organizations across the state. Includes highlights from the Rochester Public Library and other local digital collections. Images from the history of Nazareth College, as well as the Gleaner student newspaper archives are posted to this site.
- Crooked Lake Review
A local history magazine, with articles online.
- New York History Net
Pages and links are contributed by individuals and groups with an interest in New York state history. Has a search engine for entering key words, such as "Underground Railroad".
- New York Public Library Digital Gallery
Rich variety of resources from the collections of the New York Public Library.
- New York State Library Digital Collections
Books, primary documents, photographs and other illustrative materials, even music scores, related to New York in the 18th and 19th centuries. State government documents from earlier periods to the current century are also included. From the New York State Library.
- New York State Literary Tree
Clickable maps of New York state and the city of New York take you to information about authors, past and present, as well as modern-day resources for creative writers.
- New York State Office of Parks, Recreation, and Historic Preservation
Information about recreational and historic sites maintained by the state of New York.
Head of Reference,
Office: Main Floor Reading Room
Telephone: 585.389.2133Send Email